Going After Your Dreams

I find myself laughing inwardly as I start this blog post considering this is something I am still struggling with. I feel that for my entire “adult” life, I have always been a jack of all trades but a master of none and because I feel this way about myself I believe I have been holding myself back from potential success working in creative avenues. I have been taking photographs, knitting and crocheting since High School and love getting to express myself creatively. As I moved through my first 9 to 5 jobs, I also found a lot of enjoyment in graphic design and marketing, but again, felt that there was no way anyone would hire me for a marketing/graphic design position because that is not something I went to school for or have any “formal” training in.

Part of me feels that if I just let go, quick my 9 to 5 and focus on my creative talents and marketing myself in the community that I truly could be very successful (and happier) but there is always that quiet, dark voice in the cobwebby corners of my mind saying that I need to keep my job because there is no way I will make enough money or be successful enough with my “hobbies” because that is all that they are. I also worry that the market is so saturated with so many others trying to make it work as a photographer or “maker” that I am too late in the game to be truly successful.

I know that this post may not be super helpful to people like me that are on the verge of wanting to quit their “day job” to pursue a passion since I am still stuck in that place BUT I wanted to write it anyway to remind others that they are not alone. I know I am not the only one in this space in their life. It is not an easy space to be in but I like to think about something my husband said to me a few months ago when. He told me that if I wanted to have more opportunities that I needed to “Just keep putting your energy out there”. I love this. It has become like a personal mantra for me, especially on days that I may be feeling down about not having enough time to blog, crochet or market my photography.

11604057094_4a74e0a12c_z

So, to all those other hobbyists, makers, and aspiring business owners… JUST KEEP PUTTING YOUR ENERGY OUT THERE, Do your Best each and every day, Be Kind to yourself and know that “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you achieve it” (Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist).

I would love to hear about your personal journey and how you have faced the fear of branching out of your safe zone in order to pursue a passion!

 

Love and Peace to you!

Leave a Reply

